In anticipation of the workshop

Starting on coming Monday, I will attend a 10-week writing workshop from The Writers Studio. So for the next ten weeks, I will hopefully blog about the workshop, about what I’ve learned, what we did and just my general impressions on the workshop. Hopefully it will also prove to be useful for some other people as well.

The last (and only) time I attended a workshop was during March this year, and it really helped me a lot. Apart from some basic theory and useful techniques, I mainly learned to stop thinking so much when writing, and just to let it happen. That was a huge step for me, and I am able to write more freely now. Now I hope I will be able make further progress with the new workshop. The previous only lasted for one weekend, which was short, but suited my needs at that time. The new workshop is longer, and will consist of ten different sessions. So I will be pretty occupied with writing for the next ten weeks, as I also need to make sure I finish my homework before each session. Hopefully at the end, I will have fully developed the habit of writing every day. I also hope that maybe I will get to meet some people with similar interests. In my everyday life, I hardly ever talk to anyone about writing or reading at all, and sometimes I really feel that as a loss.

The timing of the workshops is actually not that good, but then it probably never is. In the end, I just thought to myself: “Fuck it. I’m just going to register,” so it was a somewhat impulsive decision. After registering, I promised myself that I would miss at most one of the ten sessions, but I realized today that there are already two days which could pose a problem. On October 11th, I might need to pick up someone from the airport. And on November 15th, I really, really want to attend the Teradata User Group, a free one-day work-related conference, especially because one of our competitors will be presenting their Business Intelligence roadmap, and I’ve always been very curious about the BI situation at our competitors, so I could compare it with our situation. But I guess I have to decide what is more important then. I’m not 100% sure yet, but I’m probably going to adhere to my own rule that I will only miss one session. On the other hand, however…

Nevertheless, it will certainly be an interesting period. During the last couple of weeks, I always feel completely exhausted when I get home from work, and I have to literally force myself to update my blog at all, let alone spending more time on ‘normal’ writing. If I truly want to write more and if I truly want to fully commit myself to the workshop, that means that I need to make a more conscious effort to work less, something I am just not very good at. Especially since I believe that if I work like crazy for just a few more months, I can actually improve a lot of things at work which would make things easier in the future. Then again, I have been postponing writing for my entire life, and I’m starting to feel a sense of urgency. In the end, it really comes down to setting priorities in my personal life and making a choice. I don’t know what will happen, but let’s just see how things will work out.

1 Comment

Filed under Writing Workshop

One response to “In anticipation of the workshop

  1. Pingback: The choice between work and writing? Hmm… « The Musings of a Dreamer

Leave a Reply

