Let’s be realistic about NaNoWriMo

Just one more day before NaNoWriMo kicks off! Exciting!

But let’s be realistic for a minute. There is at best a microscopic chance that I will reach the 50,000 words by the end of November. As I already mentioned recently, things at work are only going to get more hectic the next couple of months, and I’m already exhausted when I get back from home as it is. And when it comes to writing, my homework for the Writer’s Studio workshop, which ends at November 29th, just has a higher priority than anything I’m going to write for NaNoWriMo.

Not achieving the 50,000 words is not necessarily a bad thing though. My primary goal for participating is to just write. Be productive and have fun while doing it. Keep the momentum going now that I finally manage to write regularly. My goal is not to write 50,000 words, which is an arbitrary goal anyway. Look, I don’t want to downplay the whole word count thing. It is an amazing achievement if you are able to pull it off. I’m just saying it’s not the right goal for me at this stage. One could argue that I shouldn’t even be participating in the first place then. If my goal is just to write, I can also do that outside of NaNoWriMo. But then I would miss the feeling of community that comes along with it. The thought that there are thousands upon thousands of other writers going through similar struggles and joys as I am is a very comforting one. It makes it easier to go on writing during those inevitable moments when you wonder just what the whole point is.

I’m actually happy that I clarified this for myself beforehand, or else I would have been completely stressed out about it. I hope I will have a very productive and enjoyable month. To everyone who is also participating this year, good luck and don’t forget to have fun!

3 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo

3 responses to “Let’s be realistic about NaNoWriMo

  1. Ishana

    I wonder if you could use your writing assignments toward your word count on NaNo… That sounds a little bit like cheating, but I’m not really sure.

    You are completely right though. The point of NaNoWriMo is to write and to have fun doing so. Regardless of how much you write or how well you write it. I really can’t wait to start!

  2. Thaumaturgist

    Good Luck!!!
    I hope you have a lot of fun, accomplish your primary goal, keep the balance between writing and work and (bonus) complete the 50000 words!
    I am so excited!!
    Unfortunately I have a MAJOR exam tomorrow lwhich is a bummer if you ask me. Then another one on 4th November. But who cares? NaNoWriMo!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

